ICAM is a partnership between BP and four universities, each with specialisms in complementing areas. We work collaboratively to run ICAM on a day-to-day basis and carry out research activity.

The Programme Management Board, made up of representatives from each partner institution, is the primary caretaker of ICAM’s vision and mission implementation.  It reviews and recommends the yearly research programme and develops operating policies and practices. The Programme Management Board has twelve voting members. The casting vote is made by the Chair in the event of a deadlock.

The research programme requires the approval of the ICAM Governance Board. 

Key figures at ICAM


Ahmed Hashmi

Head of Upstream Technology, BP

Allan Matthews

ICAM Director, The University of Manchester

Andrew Leonard

Materials and Welding Team Leader, BP


Andrew Livingston

Professor of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

Angela Strank

Head of Technology, Downstream and Chief Scientist, BP

Angelo Amorelli

Vice President Group Research, BP

Anja Sinke

Segment Lead – Downstream, BP

Anna-Marie Greenaway

Global Director of International University Partnerships, BP

Chris Hallett

Technology Commercialisation Director, BP


Colm Durkan

Reader in Nanoscale Engineering, University of Cambridge

John Baker

Materials Research Scientist, BP

Les Bolton

Segment Lead – Group Technology, BP

Martin Schröder

Vice-President and Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering, The University of Manchester

Mike Hodges

Segment Lead – Upstream, BP


Nancy Sottos

Donald B. Willet Professor of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Neil Alford

Associate Provost, Imperial College London

Norman Fleck

ICAM Principle Investigator, University of Cambridge

Paul Braun

Ivan Racheff Professor of Engineering and Director of the Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Paul O’Brien

Chair of Inorganic Materials Chemistry, The University of Manchester


Sheetal Handa

ICAM Associate Director, BP

Simon Webster

Chief Engineer Corrosion, Inspection and Chemistry, BP

Vernon Gibson

ICAM Executive Director